top of page
IMG_20180812_063515.jpg

Seaweed Foraging

Tidal Tending: Harvesting and Caring for Seaweeds

Coastal Camping Trips

April 26-28 - TBD, CA

Mussel Harvest, Tide Pooling, and Seaweed Scout

May 10-12, 2024 - Pescadero, CA

Special Mother's Day Weekend Seaweed Foraging Camp


June 7-9, 2024 - Mendocino, CA

Seaweed Harvest and Sea Kayak Adventure

 

June 21-23, 2024 - Mendocino, CA

Seaweed Harvest and Seaweed Hot Tub Camp

Private Bookings also available; day trips or camping trips

The two hour trip in Berkeley or Albany. 
The 3-4 hour trip to Half Moon Bay.

Add-ons include cooking demonstrations of 2-3 recipes, or making spa treatments together

 

*Check out the video below of the octopus we saw last year in Mendocino!*

Day Trips

Wednesday May 8, 2024 - Albany Bulb

Thursday May 9, 2024 - Albany Bulb

Tuesday May 28, 2024

Wednesday May 29, 2024

Thursday June 6, 2024

Friday June 7, 2024

Monday June 10, 2024

Tuesday June 11 - Albany Bulb

Monday June 24, 2024

Tuesday June 25, 2024

Wednesday June 26, 2024- Albany Bulb -BOOKED

 

"Seaweeds or sea vegetables, as they are also called, are a major super food, providing health benefits beyond any other substance on the planet.  They are also delicious if one knows how to prepare them, and the kelp forests are in danger."   Tanya Stiller – Nutritionist, Herbalist, Health Coach and your Seaweed Guide.


In this weekend trip we will learn about the health benefits of seaweeds, learn to cook some simple and traditional Japanese and other seaweed recipes, and learn to prepare seaweed spa treatments and luxuriate in these preparations. We will go to the shoreline at the low tide and take a close look at the interrelated networks of all the different inner tidal species, learn about and practice habitat restoration methods of the kelp ecosystem (utilized by both non-profit organizations and Fish and Wildlife Department), and participate in sustainable wild tending and harvesting practices of these seaweeds, in particular we will focus on the

harvesting of the invasive seaweed species. 

Home: Welcome